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Are you looking to use Lawyer PPC but not sure where to start?

This guide will tell you everything you need to know about PPC marketing for law firms. We will guide you through every step of the process from how to start to what it costs to for PPC for Lawyers.

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    About the author David Juilfs

    David is one of Gorilla Webtactics managing members and a recognized Law Firm Marketing Expert in the US

    How To Bid & Budget For Your Law Firms PPC Campaigns

    PPC Advertising For Lawyers on Computer

    When people need to contact a lawyer or hire legal services of any kind, they usually head to Google to find a service that fulfills their needs. Even research shows that 57% of people like to look for an attorney on their own.

    When they come looking for a lawyer, do you want your website to be at the top of their search results?

    Well, implementing lawyer pay-per-click (PPC) advertising is an excellent way to reach those potential clients. PPC lets you target a very specific type of audience, i.e., people who are ONLY looking for the kind of services you offer. This can go a long way in sharpening the impact of your marketing efforts and bringing in new business.

    In fact, 74 percent of brands state that PPC is a huge business driver for them. That’s because, when done right, PPC ad campaigns yield a high return on investment. Additionally, as the name implies, you only pay for the clicks your ad gets and not for thousands of people who only see your ad.

    But keep in mind that it takes time and testing to get your PPC campaign right. So, expect a learning phase before you start seeing the results.

    Let’s figure out how to budget for a PPC campaign and the overall costs involved. Here are some of the leading factors that determine how much PPC will cost for your law firm:


    Keyword Bidding

    The cost of PPC advertising is determined by the bid you place on a specific keyword or phrase. Though you can bid whatever amount you want, ensure it is competitive as otherwise, it won’t show up on the top spots of the SERPs.

    This is because the location and number of the advertising space you get are different on each search engine. For example, Google has just seven areas reserved for each page, with three on the page’s bottom and four at the top.

    Competitive pricing differs by the industry as well. However, when it comes to legal advertising, PPC advertising costs seem to be the highest. And when focusing on more specific keywords, such as personal injury lawyer, you might have to pay an estimated 12 times more.


    Local PPC

    If you reside in a specific locality, you must modify your PPC efforts for the particular region instead of focusing on a broader global audience. Local PPC campaigns are an excellent idea for those firms who want to generate leads in their area. Moreover, the pricing of keywords can vary substantially depending on the location.


    Keyword Variations

    A PPC ad is displayed on search results pages when people search for a specific keyword related to your ad. Thus, there will be fewer searches for a keyword that is more targeted; for example, ‘car accident lawyer Houston’ will be searched a lot less than ‘Houston lawyers’.

    So, to get enough exposure (or impressions), make sure your campaign has several variations for similar keywords to account for the diver behavior of your target audiences. This will increase the chances of your keyword being searched.

    For example, if you bid for the keyword ‘Houston car accident lawyer,’ also bid for ‘Houston car accident attorney.’ There will likely be quite a noticeable difference in the pricing for each.


    Suggested Bids

    Your chosen PPC ad platform recommends bids to help firms with planning their campaign. Additionally, these suggestions overview the maximum CPC needed to place your ad in a competitive position.

    A competitive bid lands you on the first page of search engine results, which is responsible for 95% of all web traffic, so that’s good news. However, several other factors, such as Quality Score, impact your ad’s actual cost and placement.

    Bidding is based on two components: maximum CPC and daily limit.

    The maximum CPC is the most you will pay for each click on your ad. Since the auction-style bidding specifications are constantly changing, the actual CPC is generally lower than your maximum CPC. But, you need to ensure that the maximum CPC bid aligns with suggested bids so that your ad is shown at the top of the results.

    The daily limit refers to the highest amount you are willing to spend in a day on PPC marketing. This figure should guide your monthly estimated costs for PPC.


    Things To Know About Effective PPC Advertising

    Let’s look at the basics of effective PPC.

    So, suppose you are willing to spend no more than $3000 per month on PPC advertising. This means your daily limit is $100.

    Now, you want to place your ad for the keyword phrase, ‘Houston personal injury lawyer.’ You will have to take an aggressive approach to get to the top of Google’s results page. Thus, you may decide that you are willing to pay a maximum of $100 for each click. You then finalize your ad, and it goes live.

    Since your maximum CPC is high, each time someone searches for your keyword phrase, the ad will be displayed in one of the first three spots on Google’s first page. So, every time your ad comes up in a search on Google, it will get an ‘impression.’

    Then, sooner or later, someone will click on your ad. And this user will be a ‘clickthrough’ to be directed to your landing page. Google will then update your AdWords account and state your CPC.

    The way Google calculates your actual CPC is by counting it as a cent higher than your competitor’s. It does get a bit complicated to calculate when the Ad Rank is factored into the bidding process, but that is, essentially, the concept.

    For example, if your actual CPC is at $85.01, you won’t be able to get a competitive bid with your remaining daily limit. So even if your PPC ad doesn’t come up on Google’s first page, it can on other pages. Several factors may cause that to happen. For example, when your daily limit has been completely exhausted, your ad won’t be displayed for that search phrase till the next day.


    Lead Generation

    You may wonder how PPC advertising translates into leads for your legal firm so you get new cases. In essence, all the effort you put into your SEO and PPC marketing is to get noticed, so you acquire new clients, right?

    Well, here’s how that happens:

    Well, PPC advertising allows you to place your ad so that users searching for the specific service you provide can come across it. When users see a PPC advertisement, they click on it and get taken to the landing page. You will generally have more impressions than clickthroughs, and the rates vary according to industry, but it’s good to get at least a 1% rate.

    Your ad has to take users to a landing page, which can either be your homepage or a keyword or campaign-specific page (like for divorce lawyers, etc.). Nevertheless, you will be charged for every ‘clickthrough’ that leads prospective clients to your page. So you now have a lead, and it’s your job to convert that lead into a client, either through form submission or phone call. Once they do contact you, you have to convince them to work with you.

    The ad did its job, and so did Google; the rest is up to your sales team.

    So, let’s see what it takes to generate one client through PPC advertising. If you have a 1% rate of clickthroughs on your PPC ads, around 10% of site visitors will contact you to learn more about your services. You will likely get 20% of them to become your new clients.

    So, you will need to get 5000 ad impressions, with 50 PPC responses needing to be paid for.


    How Much Should Law Firms Pay On Average For PPC Advertising?

    The keywords’ attorney’ and ‘lawyer’ happen to be the most expensive on Bing and cost more than $100 for each click for searches like ‘criminal DUI attorney’ or ‘personal injury lawyer’.

    And Google Ads are significantly more expensive. Our legal specialist recommends that if you want your PPC ads to be competitive, set a minimum limit of $2500-$30,000 per month at least. More prominent law firms could spend as much as $50,000 to $100,000 monthly on PPC.

    However, the figure entirely depends on the firm’s size and objectives.  Keeping a daily limit of $1000 will allow you to receive approximately ten bids if the CPC is $100.

    Moreover, per click costs can depend on the city, the competition, and the practice area. If you are in a smaller town where you don’t have much competition and a small practice area, you may get more bang for your buck.

    Furthermore, firms must discern whether getting 10 or 20 clicks a day is worth the $1000, as not every clickthrough will become a paying customer. If you have a great conversion rate of, let’s assume, 5%, and your average CPC is $50, then you can get a conversion daily. Then, it is up to you to see if the new clients are worth less or more than that $1000 you invested.

    Your PPC campaign can be considered successful if you get more than $ 1000’s worth from conversions. If not, then you may need to rethink your PPC plan.

    Also, law firms should keep in mind that if they’re hiring a marketing company to take care of their PPC campaigns, they will also have to pay a management fee.


    To Wrap It Up

    In conclusion, there are definitely several factors that can impact the cost of a PPC campaign and the leads you get. For example, the website’s design, keywords are chosen, the ad itself, its performance and search engine placement, and more. However, if you research and plan extensively, you will conclude how much you will spend to get the leads you are looking for.

    Are you looking for a law firm marketing agency that can take your PPC budget to the next level? Then, contact Gorilla Webtactics, who have the expertise, experience, and technology to ensure your PPC advertising campaigns are successful.

    How To Optimze Your Law Firms Google Adwords Campaigns

    Tips for Winning More Clients with Law Firm PPC

    Pay-Per-Click (PPC) advertising is one of the most effective paid law firm marketing strategies. According to WordStream, the average click-through rate in Google AdWords, which is the most popular form of PPC, for the legal industry was 2.93% in 2018.


    As it allows your law firm advertisements to appear above organic search, you can drive more web traffic to your site relatively quickly compared to organic SEO. However, law firm PPC is much more complex than simply placing bids for the keywords of your choice.


    Before you start creating ads and launching campaigns, you need to understand the fundamentals of PPC advertising and learn a few tricks that can help you stand apart from your competitors.


    Let’s see a few of those lawyer PPC tricks.


    1. Use Negative Keywords to Increase Your Reach


    Negative keywords are a vital element in building your PPC campaigns. Negative keywords allow you to filter your prospects, and help you create a highly targeted PPC campaign. This, in turn, increases your PPC profits substantially, generating more revenue for every dollar you spend on your PPC for lawyers.


    For example, if you are a criminal defense attorney specializing only in white-collar crimes, search phrases like “drug defense” or “DUI defense” are your negative keywords. When you use these keywords, your advertisement won’t appear when someone searches for a criminal defense lawyer that defends drug or DUI charges.


    As your ads appear only for the most relevant search queries, negative keywords prevent you from wasting your PPC ad budget and drive highly targeted web traffic to your website. Most leading keyword research tools, including Google AdWords, allow you to choose negative keywords for your campaigns with just a few clicks.


    2. Optimize Each Advertisement


    You also need to optimize each advertisement to increase your click-through rate. It is the content of your advertisement which will determine whether or not a prospect will click on your ad. In other words, you need to brush up on your copywriting skills.


    Make sure to write a short and to-the-point title for all your ads. You can use statistics or important numbers in the title as they help attract users’ attention. Also, try to include the relevant keyword naturally in your title.


    When writing the body as well, keep your message precise and short. It should provide users with all the details they need to know before clicking your ads. The font should be easy to read. Avoid using long sentences and make sure to add your CTA and keywords in the body. Each advertisement should have unique content. Never use content from other ads or your old campaigns.


    3. Retarget Your Potential Leads


    Although lawyer PPC is effective, not all incoming leads will convert into your clients immediately. While some will show interest in your ads and visit your website, they may not necessarily call you for further help. You can, however, use your PPC ads to retarget such potential clients.


    PPC remarketing campaigns can help you reach those prospects who have had some sort of interaction with your ads or website. You can design your remarketing campaigns based on the past behavior of your target audience.


    You can launch a remarketing campaign through your Google Analytics account. You can also use a remarketing code in Google Ads to create remarketing ad campaigns based on customized rules. Google’s Dynamic Remarketing also offers much better and highly customized remarketing options.


    Just make sure to analyze and understand which type of prospects you want to retarget. As you would be spending more money on each lawyer PPC remarketing campaign, it makes sense to spend it only on users that are highly likely to convert.


    4. Track Your Performance


    Performance tracking is perhaps the most critical element in running PPC for lawyers. As this is a paid marketing model, every dollar you spend needs to be accounted for. Make sure to track the impact of your PPC ads by identifying and analyzing the number of conversions for each campaign.


    Most PPC platforms, including Google Ads, come with a built-in analytics dashboard. You should understand how it works and uses the inherent analytical features to get in-depth insights into campaign performance. You can use this information to improve your upcoming PPC campaigns.


    Don’t limit your PPC performance tracking to just one platform. For example, most paid law firm marketing strategies include Google and social media platforms like LinkedIn and even Facebook. You can associate PPC campaigns on all these platforms to get a more comprehensive view of your paid advertising efforts. It will help you understand which areas are doing better than expected and which ones need more attention.




    If you have spent time marketing your law firm, you would probably know that PPC is one of the quickest ways to increase your conversions. Getting the most out of your PPC budget, however, is easier said than done. Hopefully, these four tips will help you improve the efficiency of your PPC campaigns. You can always hire an experienced digital marketing agency like Gorilla Webtactics to design, implement, and track your lawyer PCC campaigns. Our experts will help you stand out from your competitors. Call us today at (855) 518-3045 or contact us online to know how we can help.

    How To Create PPC Landing Pages For Your Law Firm That Convert

    Legal Landing Pages Are Helping Lawyers Turn Prospects Into Clients

    Pay-Per-Click advertising is one of the best ways to generate more leads and sales conversions for your law firm. When it comes to paid digital advertising, research states that the Average Conversion Rate (CVR) for the legal industry on Google Search is 6.98% and 1.84% on Google Display Network (GDN). It is the second-highest conversion rate followed by the Dating and Personals industry.


    Although it enjoys a higher conversion rate, you still need to optimize your lawyer PPC marketing to ensure better ROI. One of the essential PPC elements is the landing pages. They are the bridge where your potential prospects turn into your customers. That’s why you need to pay careful attention when creating landing pages.


    Here are four tried-and-tested tips to help create the best PPC landing pages for your law firm.


    1. Keep It Relevant


    Although it sounds obvious, keeping your landing page relevance is key to a successful PPC campaign. From start to finish, every piece of content, be it text, video, or image, has to match the message or context of your paid law firm marketing campaigns.


    Google will take the relevance of your landing page into consideration when determining its quality score. To increase relevance, make sure to use the search phrases or keywords that the target audience is most likely to use.


    The content also needs to address the primary concern or query of your target audience. It should also be original. In fact, each landing page should have unique content that provides valuable and useful information.


    Users will click on your ad because they think it will deliver what it promises. If your landing page doesn’t match with this message, they will quickly leave, and probably never come back. In other words, if your ad is about fighting a DUI charge, there’s no point in talking about defending an assault charge on your landing page.


    2. Include Videos in Your Landing Page


    Videos can increase the chances of conversion as people require little effort to understand a video message compared to text. You can also use your creative imagination to create animation and graphics to convey your message more effectively. As mentioned in the previous point, however, the videos should also support the message offered in your lawyer PPC advertisements.


    You can use different types of videos on the landing pages. One of the most commonly used types is the explainer video.


    Explainer videos are what they sound like. They explain a particular legal point or issue to your target audience. The explanation, however, needs to be short and digestible. It should also end with an actionable message.


    Alternatively, you can use testimonial videos. A real-life client talking about how your legal expertise played a crucial role in resolving their problem is probably the best way to market your services. These videos provide solid social proof of the success of your law firm.


    3. Focus on Your Value Proposition


    Your value proposition sets you apart from your competitors. If possible, include the value proposition in your headline itself. Ideally, your value proposition should consist of the following three elements:


    • Explain how you can address your clients’ pain points or legal problems
    • The benefits your potential clients can enjoy, should they choose your services
    • You also need to explain why they should choose you over your competitors

    When it comes to law firm marketing, your value proposition can be anything, from how transparent your fee structure is to your ability to provide personal attention to each case. So, you need to think carefully about how you can set yourself apart from your competitors.


    4. Keep It Simple and User-Friendly


    Like the rest of your website, all landing pages should load as quickly as possible. The longer it takes for them to load a page, the higher the bounce rate will be, as people have little or no patience for webpages to load. That’s why keeping the landing pages simple, minimal, and uncluttered is a good idea.


    Make sure the page design is user-friendly and matches the design of your website. Keep the critical information or elements, including your CTA, front, and center. You would want your prospects to take the desired action quickly. So, avoid adding distractions like banner advertisements or pop-ups.


    You can use bullet points and bold or large fonts to make an important message stand out from the rest of the content. Make sure to follow a consistent content and design structure for every landing page to boost your lawyer PPC conversions.


    Parting Words


    If you want your lawyer PPC to succeed, you need to start optimizing your landing pages. From focusing on the relevance to creating simple and user-friendly webpage designs, these four tips will help you create landing pages that convert. You can always rely on a trusted law firm marketing agency like Gorilla Webtactics to help you create the best landing pages, and also help with other services like SEO and web design. Call us today at (855) 518-3045 or contact us online to find out how we can help you.

    Responsive Search Ads: What They Are & How They Benefit Attorneys

    Google Ads Tips for Lawyers PPC Marketing

    The digital marketing landscape is constantly evolving as new technologies keep entering the market. Paid advertising, which is a crucial part of the digital marketing ecosystem, is no exception to this trend. One of the relatively recent additions to this industry is the introduction of Responsive Search Ads (RSAs) by Google.


    This new form of paid advertisement can take your PPC for lawyer to a whole new level. It can help you capitalize on a wide range of searches and user interests in relatively less time and with little effort. However, to make the most of it, you need to understand how RSAs work and the unique benefits they offer to your overall law firm marketing efforts.


    How Do Responsive Search Ads Work?

    Responsive Search Ads (RSAs) offer better compilation and selection of suitable advertisements than their traditional counterparts. In conventional lawyer PPC marketing, Google allows you to insert two headlines and a single description in your ad based on the search queries presented by your target users.


    In RSAs, however, Google allows you to add up to 15 headlines and four different descriptions in your advertisements. Based on the search queries, user-specific behavior data, and the quality of your ads, Google will choose the most effective advertisements for display. Google will also allow you to display a combination of up to three headlines and two descriptions for each advert.


    The Benefits of Using Responsive Ads in Your Lawyer PPC

    Compared to traditional paid advertisements that offer just two headlines and one description, RSAs come with several unique benefits that can strengthen your law firm PPC campaigns.


    • Increased Flexibility in Your Lawyer PPC Campaigns

    One of the primary benefits of using RSAs is the increased flexibility for creating your law firm PPC campaigns. Unlike conventional paid advertisements, you can test as many as 15 headlines and four descriptions.


    In other words, you can be more creative and come up with the content that best resonates with your target audience. The more combinations you test, the more suitable your advertisements will be. This, in turn, will help you attract highly qualified leads that can turn into your customers relatively quickly.


    • Considerable Time Saving

    Testing is an integral part of lawyer PPC marketing. If you are already using traditional paid ads, you must have tested your adverts for performance. However, manually testing dozens of advertisements every month is a nightmare for most marketers and lawyers.


    With RSA, you can leverage Google’s latest machine learning capabilities to test your advertisements for performance. All you need to do is create 15 unique headlines and four descriptions based on your keyword research and user behavior analysis.


    Google will then test different combinations to find the ones that resonate most with your target audience. As Google does most of the legwork in RSAs, you can save considerable time, while focusing on your core work responsibilities. This is a massive benefit for boutique law firms that often have limited resources.


    • Optimization On-the-Go

    If you have already used PPC to market your law firm, you know that it isn’t a one-time deal. You need to continuously optimize your paid advertising campaigns to stay relevant and keep getting more conversions. In conventional paid advertising, however, optimization is susceptible to human errors. It is also time-consuming.


    Unlike their traditional counterparts, RSAs are smarter. With Google’s machine learning, your ad groups will keep collecting and analyzing more user data as it becomes available. Being automated, it also eliminates human errors. As your advertisements get optimized continuously, your paid law firm marketing becomes more targeted over time.


    • Better Return on Your PPC Investment

    The last and perhaps the most critical benefit of Responsive Search Ads is that you can get a better return on your investment in PPC for lawyers.


    Unlike organic lawyer SEO, you want your paid advertisements to start offering returns as quickly as possible. Thanks to machine learning-based real-time optimization, RSAs offer quicker and better optimization.


    As they are more relevant to your target audience and show up in a wide range of searches, they stand to attract more clicks than conventional PPC ads. In other words, you can expect a relatively quicker and higher return on your lawyer PPC investment if you choose RSAs.


    However, RSAs also requires a strategic approach and careful keyword and user-behavior analysis. If you use random headlines and descriptions in your RSA ad groups, it will be a waste of your time and money. The trick is to maintain your efficiency without getting carried away with the creative diversity of Responsive Search Ads, which requires experience.



    If you haven’t already used Responsive Search Ads, they should be at the top of your lawyer PPC marketing strategy. Powered by Google’s machine learning, they can help strengthen your paid advertisement marketing, save time, and offer better ROI. A seasoned digital law firm marketing agency like Gorilla Webtactics can help you make the most of your RSA campaigns. Call us today at (855) 518-3045 or contact us online to know how your law firm can benefit from our expertise.

    How To Reduce Your Law Firms Cost Per Conversions

    Lawyer PPC - Lowering Your Law Firms Cost Per Conversion


    Are your Pay-per-click costs skyrocketing? Are you searching for ways to lower your Law Firms current PPC Advertising outlay? Let me show you how you can go about making your current Google AdWords campaign competitive and cost effective at the same time. Here goes…

    First up –lower your bids.

    Google Adwords PPC Management

    This results in a lower maximum CPC that Google will charge. So you’re essentially lowering your average click to match a limited budget. This might mean that your rank position could drop but you would actually be getting more traffic out of the deal because you will be able to afford more clicks with the same budget. More clicks = more conversions. Happy you! Start with a small change by lowering by no more than 25%. This will help you to keep track of the impact of the adjustment a lot easier.

    Aim for Second and Third Place?

    Now this is going to sound crazy but you don’t want to bid for position #1. What? Yes, of course the higher ad rankings certainly get more clicks, but the top spot is not necessarily always the best spot for conversions. While it may seem good to be up there in first position – your leaving yourself vulnerable for, “happy clickers” People who click on ads for reasons other than converting. You really want to target spots 2-3. 

    You’re looking to hook the quality clicks. Even if you do have a gigantic advertising budget you don’t want to try to outbid your competitors but rather put your attention on increasing your conversion rates. Higher conversion rates will ultimately give you the best ROI when you have the right sales process. Take my word for it – position 2-3 will deliver the greatest ROI. 

    Are you tracking your PPC ROI?

    Why not? There are many people who are not tracking the impact of their PPC campaigns. They are just throwing money at Google Adwords and hoping for the best. You would never do this with any other investments so why neglect one of the most vital elements of your business. You have to track your conversions. You will be able to save money when you truly understand how much you’re making from your efforts and what you are spending to get each conversion. You must have a formula in place to be able to calculate your success and challenges in your PPC advertising. You must use the “Tool and Conversions” menu option to set up conversion tracking for any form submission received. You must also track your phone calls.

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    A/B Testing Your AdWords PPC Campaign

    Your sole aim is to increase your click through to conversion rate. You want to know that you are doing everything in your power to ensure maximum conversions. You want Google to give you the highest quality score so your PPC rate gets lower. And the way you go about that is to split-test your ads and optimize your landing pages using A/B testing to ensure your visitors turns into quality leads.

    So take yourself off to Google AdWords and log into your account, then click on “Campaigns”. Choose an ad group and click on the “Ads” tab. When you have set up at least two ad sets you can test them against each other to see which one is performing better. You can A/B test (split-test) four elements of the ad –the title, headline, first and second line. These ads are for the same landing page (you don’t want to change that). Google then will show each one 50% of the time so you can make a comparison to see which one is the racehorse. Which one has the better CTR and which has the lower cost-per-click – hopefully it’s the same one. Make sure the ads are very different to each other as this will make for better testing. You can make a whole range of different ads to test against each other in the same “campaign.” You will keep making variations until you find your winner. But always make sure you are getting in enough significant data to make your final decision.

    Monitor Keywords daily

    Yes, daily. You must check the relevancy of the keywords you have chosen for your campaign. You simply go to the keywords tab and hover over the quality score speech bubble for your chosen keyword or phrase and it will tell you how it’s performing. Those that are operating at “below average” must be removed to improve your quality score and CTR.

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    Geo-Fence Your PPC Ad 

    This feature allows you to target your ads to people who have show an interest in your law firm. You can choose to have your PPC ad appear at a physical location or location of interest (or both locations). When you can target a specific geographic area your ads they become a lot more relevant and it will lead to an increase in quality traffic. You can also exclude all locations that border your geographic location parameters so that your ad does not show to an audience that will not be able to or willing to make use of your services.

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    Call Now For A Free PPC Analyisis From Gorilla Webtactics

    The great attributes of PPC Advertising is that it’s a predictable way to drive traffic to your website for lead generation. You can always set the parameters of how much you are prepared to spend and how many visitors you wish to target and in which location. You can drive prospects to your website in hours using PPC and can see results very quickly. If you wish to scale, once you’ve refined your cost per conversion you only have to raise your budget or target more keywords instead of creating more content. 

    Do you want to grow your business by adding PPC into your overall strategy but are nervous about how to execute a campaign effectively? We can help you. We’ll show you how to include Pay-per-click advertising into your long term marketing plan. Book A Call With One Of Our Marketing Experts for FREE advice today!

    How To Reduce Your Law Firms Risk For Click Fraud

    Reduce the Risk of Click Fraud in Law Firm PPC

    PPC or pay-per-click advertising is an excellent way to get the attention of your target audience immediately. However, PPC management for lawyers comes with the risk of potential click fraud, which remains the gravest concern for most law firms. Research states that 20% of clicks on PPC ads are fraudulent.


    The click fraud can exhaust your PPC budget without producing the desired results, offering your competitors an advantage over you. In worst-case scenarios, it may also get you locked out of your PPC account.


    Let’s get a quick overview of what it is and how you can prevent it.


    1. What Is Click Fraud?


    In simple words, click fraud is a black hat technique. With this technique, your competitor can falsely increase the number of clicks for your advertisement campaigns. Thus, it drains your PPC budget quickly without letting you get any web traffic. It also shoots up Click-Through Rates (CTRs) or costs on advertisements with no conversions.


    2. How to Reduce the Risk of Click Fraud?


    While Google is trying its best to prevent the click fraud, you also need to take a few steps at your end to ensure your PPC management for lawyers is on the right track.


    Here’s what you can do.


    A. Set up IP Exclusions in Google Ads


    This is an excellent way to stop click fraud, especially if you already know the IP addresses that look suspicious. With this step, you can block those IP addresses from seeing (and hence, clicking) your ads permanently.


    • Log into your Google Ads account
    • Open the campaign of your choice
    • Find the Additional Settings tab under the main Settings option
    • Go to the IP Exclusions option
    • You can simply copy-paste the suspected IP addresses and click save

    Once this is done, no one using these IP addresses will be able to see or click your advertisements.


    B. Set Different Bid Prices


    Another way to bring down the risk of click fraud is to control the bid prices set for different PPC advertisement campaigns. While this method will not help you prevent the click fraud altogether, it will certainly help you bring down the financial risk associated with it. Carefully check all your campaigns, how the ads are performing, and how diverse your bid prices can be.


    In addition to this, you should also avoid placing your ads on low-quality websites. Low-quality websites are more likely to have bots that are designed to perform click-fraud. On the other hand, well-established websites often take the necessary precautions to avoid click-fraud.


    C. Geo-Targeting


    One more effective way of preventing click fraud is geo-targeting. You can weed out fraudulent clicks by restricting your advertisements to specific locations. In some developing countries, there are click farms where cheap labor is used to click on advertisements for money to boost the owner’s PPC revenues.


    Furthermore, the lack of proper cybercrime laws can also make it difficult to bring these perpetrators to light. You can avoid the risk of potential fraud by excluding such countries from your list of locations.


    Besides, for law firms that do not offer overseas legal services, there is no point in placing ads in countries other than the US. If your firm operates only locally, you can also set ad display limits to your service locations.


    • Go to your Google Ads account dashboard
    • Choose the desired campaign
    • Go to the inner menu on the left and select the Locations tab
    • Now click on the Excluded tab on the map
    • Click the round, blue pencil icon to select locations that you want to exclude from the campaign
    • Don’t forget to save the list

    D. Track Your Advertising Campaigns


    To ensure your PPC campaigns are running smoothly without any fraud, keep a close eye on all of them. Comparing the past and current data can help you detect any discrepancies. You should look for the following things when tracking your campaigns:


    • A sudden spike in your ad spending
    • A sudden drop in your conversion rates
    • Quicker-than-usual consumption of your daily Google Ads budget
    • A sudden increase in your bounce rate

    The two tools you can use to track your PPC campaigns are Campaign Performance and Account Performance.


    Parting Words


    PPC click fraud is more common than you can imagine. However, with a few simple precautions, you can reduce the risk of potential click fraud significantly. Hopefully, the above four tips should help you in this regard. You can also hire law firm marketing services providers like Gorilla Webtactics to do the legwork for you. From PPC management for lawyers to law firm web design, we can take care of all your digital marketing needs. Call us today at (612) 260-1506 or contact us online, and let us help you.

    The 6 Most Important PPC KPI's Law Firms Need To Watch

    Law Firm PPC KPIs You Should Not Miss

    Pay-Per-Click or PPC advertising can help you generate leads relatively quickly. That’s why an increasing number of businesses are investing in paid advertising.

    According to Statista, in 2019, search advertising spending stood at $104.8 billion worldwide. It is projected to reach around $137 billion by 2022.

    However, without the right key performance indicators or KPIs, you can’t create successful lawyer PPC campaigns.

    Here are six KPIs that you shouldn’t miss on when planning your campaign.


    1. Average Click-Through Rate

    Click-Through Rate or CTR is one of the most important KPIs in paid law firm SEO. It is the number of clicks marketers receive on their ads per number of impressions. The average CTR is the ratio of ad clicks to impressions across your campaign or for a specific keyword. It is expressed in percentage.

    A higher average CTR usually indicates that your ads are relevant. A good average CTR depends on a variety of factors, including your industry, keywords, and your advertisement campaigns.

    You can use WordStream’s CTR calculator to know if your average CTR is higher or lower than your competitors. Once you know where your average CTR stands, you can optimize your campaigns accordingly.


    CTR Calculator


    2. Cost Per Click (CPC)

    Cost-Per-Click or CPC is the cost you have to pay to a publisher like Google for every click your advertisements receive. It is the price you will pay for running your lawyer PPC campaigns. You can calculate the CPC by using the following formula:

    Cost Per Click = Advertising Cost / Number of Clicks

    In advertising platforms like Google, you can set maximum CPC when bidding. The actual CPC you pay for a campaign is often less than the maximum CPC (your bidding cost).

    CPC is a crucial metric as it will tell you how much your paid law firm marketing will cost, helping you plan your budget. The average CPC in AdWords is $2.69 (search) and $0.63 for Google Display Network (GDN). However, it is quite high, i.e. $6.75 (search) and $0.72 (GDN), for the legal industry.


    3. Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)

    Cost Per Acquisition is the aggregate cost marketers have to pay to acquire a new customer. You can calculate the CPA by dividing the total cost of conversions by the number of conversions. CPA is more of a financial metric that helps you to calculate the revenue your advertisement campaign has generated.

    The average CPA across industries varies. While the average CPA in Google AdWords across all industries is $48.96 (search) and $75.51 (GDN), it is $86.02 (search) and $39.52 (GDN) for the legal industry, probably higher than any other niche.


    4. Conversion Rate (CVR)

    Conversion Rate or CVR is the number of conversions divided by the total number of visitors. In AdWords, it is the number of conversions divided by total number of clicks, which is expressed in percentage.

    For example, if your lawyer PPC campaign generates 12 conversions per 1000 clicks, your CVR is (12/1000) X 100 = 1.2%. This KPI offers you a direct measure of how successful your campaigns are. If you optimize your PPC campaigns for higher CVR, you will get a better return on your paid advertisement investments.


    5. Impression Share

    This simple KPI tells you how many people have viewed your advertisements. However, a higher impression share alone doesn’t indicate the success of your lawyer PPC campaign. You have to use this metric in conjunction with others to measure the success of your campaign.

    It does tell you about how many viewers you have reached compared to your competitors. For example, if your impression share is 30%, it means 70% of your target audience is viewing ads by your competitors. In other words, the higher your impression share is, the more people your ads have reached.


    6. Quality Score

    Although Quality Score is a bit difficult to understand, it is an important KPI. Created by Google, this metric helps you to understand how relevant your paid advertisements are. As it affects your CPC and CPA, quality score is critical for your lawyer PPC success.

    This metric uses other KPIs, including average CTR, the quality of your landing pages for specific ad campaigns, and the relevance of your advertisement content and the keywords used in it.

    Google calculates this score on a scale of 0-10, with a score between 7 and 10 being considered as a good quality score. If your score is less than 6, you need to improve it to make your campaigns more successful.


    Parting Words

    Running lawyer PPC campaigns requires careful planning, which in turn, is based on selecting the right metrics or KPIs. Keeping these six KPIs in mind should help you optimize your PPC campaigns for better results. However, you can also let an experienced PPC agency for Lawyers like Gorilla Webtactics create, run, and optimize your PPC campaigns. We can help you stay two steps ahead of your competitors. Call us today at (855) 518-3045 or contact us online to know more.

    The Benefits of Using Long Tail Keywords for Attorneys

    Long Tail Keywords for Lawyer PPC

    In the increasingly crowded digital space, Pay-Per-Click or PPC advertising will help you cut through the clutter and reach out to your target audience. According to Statista, in 2019, search advertising spending stood at nearly $106.5 billion worldwide. This amount is projected to grow to about $132 billion by 2022.


    Running successful PPC campaigns, however, is a challenging process. If your lawyer PPC marketing strategy fails, you will not only end up exhausting your budget but also miss the opportunity to improve your brand awareness quickly. Long-tail keywords are one of the best ways to ensure the success of your PPC.


    These are specific search phrases that people use to look for products and services online. These search terms often comprise the largest chunk of online searches, making them essential in not only organic but also paid SEO like PPC. In fact, long-tail keywords present you with the unique opportunity to boost your PPC ROI.


    Here’s why long-tail keywords might be the missing piece of the puzzle your PPC needs.


    1. Less Competition


    One of the primary benefits of long-tail keywords is lower competition. Long-tail keywords are usually specific search terms. So, unlike generic or short-tail keywords, they often have less competition.


    Take a look at the following search results. As the length of the search term increases, the number of search results (search volume) starts dropping significantly. In other words, the competition goes down as the keyword length increases.


    • Lawyer in Minneapolis: 21,50,00,000
    • Criminal Lawyer in Minneapolis: 75,40,000
    • Forgery Criminal Lawyer in Minneapolis: 14,60,000


    Keyword Volume in the Google SERP


    Owing to their low volume, most marketers won’t bother using long-tail keywords for lawyer PPC campaigns.


    However, if you choose to use long-tail keywords, you will face much less competition. This, in turn, will help you use your PPC budget more efficiently, get better ROI for every dollar you spend, and rank easily due to less competition.


    2. Aligned with Voice Search


    From ordering a pizza to calling an Uber, voice search technology is allowing people to interact with the Web hands-free. With the introduction of various voice assistants and smart speakers like Siri, Google Assistant, Google Home, Cortana, and Amazon Alexa, voice search is growing rapidly.


    According to Statista, the global smart speaker market was valued at $11.9 billion in 2019. By 2025, it is expected to grow to over $35.5 billion. The growing influence of voice search, however, is also changing the keyword search dynamics. Voice search queries are significantly longer than text-based search.


    In other words, voice search queries are similar to long-tail keywords. Incorporating long-tail keywords in your PPC advertising for lawyers will increase your chances of showing up in voice search. Thus, people using voice assistants on their phones and smart speakers at home or office will be able to see your advertisements when interacting with the Web.


    3. Lower PPC Costs


    If you have used PPC before, you know that Google Ads charges you based on the demand for the keyword. In short, generic keywords with higher search volume and higher demand will have higher Cost-Per-Click (CPC).


    On the other hand, keywords with lower competition will have lower CPC. So, using long-tail keywords will free up more of your PPC budget. You will be able to target more long-tail keywords without having to increase your PPC budget.


    However, you do need to identify and choose the right long-tail keywords carefully. People using these keywords have already made up their mind to buy a particular product or service. So, you get only one shot to impress potential customers and encourage them to take the desired action.


    4. More Targeted Than Broad Search Terms


    While short-tail keywords are more popular for PPC, they often have lower conversion rates. Most people using a generic search term are usually looking for more information on the topic. As a result, they will click your ads, but won’t convert immediately. Plus, due to the higher number of clicks, you will end up exhausting your PPC budget.


    Long-tail keywords, however, are highly targeted. With these keywords, you are targeting people who are already in the conversion stage of the sales funnel. They have already done their research and are ready to make the purchase. Thus, with long-tail keywords, your lawyer PPC will have higher conversions.


    Furthermore, the conversions resulting from these keywords are also more cost-effective compared to broad search terms. Also, advertisements with longer search terms often tend to grab higher positions in the search results compared to short-tail keywords. This means, with long-tail keywords, you will be able to attract more Web traffic to your website.




    As you can see, long-tail keywords can help boost your lawyer PPC significantly. They are highly specific, have lower search volume, higher conversion rate, lower CPC, and higher relevance to voice search. However, identifying the right long-tail keywords and creating relevant PPC adverts is a demanding and on-going process. That’s why having an expert digital marketing firm like Gorilla Webtactics on your side is a great idea. We can help you create your PPC strategy from scratch, allowing you to focus on your practice. Call us today at (855) 518-3045 or contact us online to find out how we can help.

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